What have you done to save money this week?…and working HARD!

March 8, 2013
I did not buy peanut butter or cheese last week because I thought we had just enough to make it through the week. I was wrong. So the second to last day before grocery shopping day, everyone had 1/2 of a grilled cheese and 1/2 of a PB&J and that was that of the cheese and peanut butter. The day before grocery shopping day, we had chickpea salad sandwiches. YUM! We now finally have peanut butter and cheese so we are having quesadillas tonight šŸ™‚

As a side note: we try not to eat much dairy…the quesadillas were yummy so we had them two days in a row!…and then all had tummy aches. lesson learned! until the next time we forget…
I need to mill flour today and make bread and jelly tomorrow so we will be set for PB&Js for lunch for the week. I have been doing A LOT more things to avoid buying these things from the store.

It is a lot to remember – I feel like there’s always something else to do. But then I tell myself to suck it up šŸ˜‰ If I want to save money and I want my family to eat healthily, which I DO, these are things that need to be done.
Even though we have lived in the country for 7 years, we are just starting to live a more ‘country’ life. We have chickens, we are gardening in order to eat, making mostly everything from scratch…this city girl is learning how much work it really is.

March 04 13 - 0167
The other day when we were planting potatoes, about halfway through, I wanted to give up. It was hard work! And my hands hurt! And it was cold! Then I got over it šŸ™‚ and finished the job – if for no other reason than my child was standing next to me saying everything I was thinking and I wanted her to stick with it.

March 02 13 - 0441
I always considered myself a hard worker – I played competitive sports all through highschool and college and studied really hard…that was nothing compared to growing food to feed your family. I have grown SO much respect for farmers in these past few months! There is no ‘going home’ from work at the end of the day, it seems.

Anyway, back to what we did to save money. My husband was going by Aldi (normally way out of the way) and was able to pick up A TON of veggies – enough to save me $14 this week. That is HUGE when my grocery budget is only $112/week!

What did you do to save money/to not have to make an extra trip into town to go to the grocery store?

3 thoughts on “What have you done to save money this week?…and working HARD!

    1. newbiegardengirl Post author

      It really does! I never paid too much attention but I just noticed that the last time I picked up wheat was 6 months ago – at $38! Sure, I also have to buy olive oil, salt, honey, and yeast but that brings me to a little over $50/6months. that is an insane amt of savings!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

