April Budget Update and Changes

May 1, 2013

A budget update is so boring…I didn’t even want to write about it. But it helps keep me focused and may be a reminder to you all to start a budget! 🙂

In 2012, we spent $150/week ($600/month) on groceries for our family of seven. We also went out  to eat 2-4x month. I tried to pair that down this year to $112/week ($450/month). This is just not happening for two reasons:

  1. We now go out to eat once a month (it seems to always be someone’s birthday) so I am cooking at home more.
  2. My husband has been juicing since February and that adds about $20 to our grocery bill each week.

I have been spending, pretty consistently, $125/week ($500/month) so far this year so this week, when we had our monthly budget meeting, I decided to change our grocery budget to something more realistic.

I could feel like this is a loss (not making my $112/week goal) but I choose to see it as a win because I am saving $100/month compared to 2012 numbers with growing children with growing appetites.

Things I am NOT buying:

Every once in a while, I am not buying kale, broccoli, spinach, and lettuce, because this is what we have been growing in our winter garden. Hopefully, this summer, I will be able to reduce our grocery bill even more as we have potatoes, peas, carrots, beans, and blueberries growing and hopefully we will continue to produce more vegetables as well.

What are you doing to get out of debt/save money? Send any creative ideas my way 😀

Leave a Reply

