Harvest Monday

June 24, 2013

I keep saying kale is done but it keeps producing! No complaining here! Because food is best fresh picked, however, I am still getting the hang of remembering to take pictures after I harvest and before I eat. This week, kale was picked and promptly used (juiced).

I picked lettuce, and handful of blueberries, and snaps (green beans) just about every day this week for supper. I remembered to take a picture one of those days šŸ˜‰

harvest lechuga blueberriesI was weeding the other day and accidentally pulled a carrot.

carrot(result of stripping the pea plants and pulling weeds)

We have never been able to grow carrots before but the seed was getting old so I just threw some in this year. Even though we have clay soil, the BTE method of gardening is supposed to condition/fertilize your soil every time it rains (which has been A LOT this year so far) so it was a good experiment. After I pulled one accidental carrot, I let the kids pull one each and we ate them for lunch the next day. Apparently I forgot to take a pic but this was the typical size – we were just thinning). I was nervous for taste but they tasted pretty good! Yay for the carrot experiment! The next day, my husband went out and bought some more carrot seed for me šŸ™‚

We went away for the weekend and when we got back, we got a much larger blueberry harvest than normal. The interesting thing is, the blueberries are cracking this year. They are so large, they look like a bunch of grapes! The three things that are different this year than in years past is

  1. There was no late spring frost to kill some of the berries so there are more on each bush.
  2. I pruned the bushes HEAVILY this winter, which means all of their energy went into producing more berries.
  3. It has rained A LOT more this winter and spring than normal.

bluesI assume the cracking is from the rain. It does not affect taste at all – just a curious sight to see…

I am linking to Harvest Monday over at Daphne’s Dandelions. Check out what other people are harvesting – go be inspired šŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. Stoney Acres

    Wow, your harvest looks great. We have heavy clay soil as well. We have had success with some of the smaller carrot varieties, like little finger. You should give them a try in the fall.

    Reply
  2. kitsapfg

    Yummy looking blueberries. Getting enough rain and gentle weather to ease into the summer season is really the key to a good early summer garden. That and good soil management of course! Your young carrot looks like it would be a treat to eat.

    Reply
  3. Budding and Blooming

    Yum.. fat, juicy blueberries! I have clay soil too and previously I had a raised bed garden and the carrots did fine. Now I am gardening in the clay soil, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I get some carrots.

    Reply
    1. newbiegardengirl Post author

      when i grew carrots in raised beds (in Mel’s Mix), they did not do well at all. This year, using the BTE method, they seem to be doing really well! We are also getting a lot of rain, so that may be helping? idk. i’m just thankful! šŸ˜€

      Reply
  4. Nancy Davis

    Hi! Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog! I am trying to learn how to use Kale because I know it is good for you. I don’t juice so do you have other ways you use it? Wonderful that you have discovered you can grow carrots! My hubby made me special deep boxes because we have clay soil too. Tell me how the Back to Eden method of garden is doing. How long have you been at it. I am trying on just one little section of my garden this year but my son is in his second year. Wonderful big blueberries. I just have a few little ones but put some netting over them hoping to get them before the birds!! Great you already got a few green beans! Lucky you! Nancy

    Reply
    1. newbiegardengirl Post author

      we love kale salads (strip kale off of stem then rip into small pieces; mix EVOO, ACV, honey – massage kale & let marinate; add to it nuts, raisins, & apples) and sauteed kale (strip & rip; heat coconut oil on pan; add kale; mix w/tongs continually until fully coated; season w/salt (we’ve used garlic pwdr & parm. cheese before too) – really keep an eye on – the kale will burn easily).

      BTE method is working WONDERFULLY as far as watering and weeding goes! As far as making crops ‘better’ – i think only time will tell…but I do think it is conditioning & fertilizing the soil already (carrots & lettuce love it). Keep us updated on how your little section works out this year šŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

