Harvest Monday

August 26, 2013

I was able to harvest my first cantaloupe this week (and 2nd, 3rd, & 4th)! They are pretty small but sweet so we are happy with them. I am going to order new seeds next year.

lope1(first cantaloupe) 20 harvest(second cantaloupe, first peas, Roma, cherry, and Amish Paste tomatoes, cucumber, and red bell pepper)

Because of the craziness this spring of transplanting everything, I just assumed I was harvesting Roma tomatoes this whole season. After I harvested that one Cherokee purple tomato though, I started really noticing how pointy some of my ‘Romas’ were… Lo and behold, they are Amish Paste! – the other tomato seeds Daphne sent me a number of years ago – and they are doing great! 🙂

I freeze the tomatoes and in the winter I will use them in soups and make them into sauce. I don’t want to heat up my kitchen in the summer if I can help it. The cucumber, cherry tomatoes, red pepper, and cantaloupe were eaten that night with our supper.

Our cucumber plant is being shaded by our pole beans so it is not giving us many cucumbers. I have another cucumber plant growing but we’ll see – nothing yet from that plant.

Our squash plant had a short season as well. I have had 4 die, never producing fruit. I stayed really diligent with those – keeping all of the bugs and eggs off. I left this one alone though, thinking maybe I poked and prodded the others too much? Anyway, the bugs have completely taken over the producing squash plant so I had to just throw it to the chickens. They’ll enjoy the bugs and maybe that added protein will help them finally give me some eggs! 😛 Twenty-five weeks and counting! I wish someone could come over and tell me what I’m doing wrong, if anything…

My pea plants are looking good but the peas they are producing are really small! Well, the pods, anyway. The peas are nice and fat but most of the pods only have 1,2 or 3 peas in them. Is this because of the heat? I’ve never had a lot of success with fall-planted garden peas so I am not sure if this is normal or not…

harvest2(more cantaloupes, tomatoes, peas, red bell peppers, pole beans)

We are continuing to pick beans (pole and bush) a couple of times a week. I can’t believe we are not tired of them yet! The plan was to freeze them once we got sick of eating them fresh so we would have plenty for the winter. I do not even have a gallon freezer bag full yet! I’ll have to make a note to plant MANY more next year!

Two other things that were ‘harvested’ this week: Tomato Horn Worms and POISON IVY.

We have poison ivy growing around one of our blueberry bushes. Every year my husband pulls it but it is wrapped around the base & roots so it grows back again. This year, I was pulling weeds so I went ahead and pulled it, put it in the woods, and went inside to wash my hands with dish soap. I have never reacted to poison ivy so I was surprised the next day when I saw some on my forearm. It has been almost a week and a half now and I am COVERED. Arms, hands, torso, legs…no pics (you’re welcome). I have not slept in the past 4  nights so I am constantly exhausted and oh so much fun to be around. Please tell me it goes away eventually!!!

We were doing our nightly walk around the garden last night and I saw a horn worm.

waspsI told my 7yo to get her camera and while she was getting it, I saw 3 more.

lots o worms(look carefully! there are three here (bottom one covered in wasp eggs)

We walked around, taking pictures of horn worms, paralyzed by hornets & covered in eggs and picking off horn worms not yet paralyzed. There were 15 in all! (only three were not covered in eggs)

3 hornThe chickens were not interested in eating the horn worms, which I thought was curious. Anyone else had their chickens turn their noses up to horn worms?

Speaking of the chickens, the rooster is mounting a couple hens whose combs are growing larger and redder every day! The anticipation is at a feverish pitch!

Check out what everyone else is harvesting at Daphne’s Dandelions this week 🙂

9 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. Janet M

    So sorry you got into the poison ivy! OUCH! I’ve avoided that so far. My 2nd planting of zucchini went to the bugs just like the first 😦 I have one in a half barrel way away from the garden/next to the house that is looking OK and has produced a couple fruit for me. My 2nd planting of yellow squash are producing, but very slowly. We have had many cloudy days and not really a lot of heat. I’m wondering if that is why they are slow. Pull out the cucumbers, all but one of the cantaloupe and some tomatoes. Other tomatoes are making a resurgence! Hope the fruit has time to ripen. Putting seeds in the ground for the fall crops.

    Reply
  2. Stoney Acres

    Great looking harvest this week!! We are patiently waiting for our first cantaloupe, i’m hoping the come this week!! Just be patient with those hens, your not doing anything wrong, most of ours didn’t start laying until around 30 weeks, pretty soon you will be up to your eyes in fresh eggs!!

    Reply
    1. newbiegardengirl Post author

      oh, that’s encouraging. what kind do you have? we have orpingtons & australorps (australia orpingtons). from what i’ve read 23-26 weeks is normal but up to 28 weeks. however, a friend & i bought ours together (same breed) and hers have been laying for weeks now) :\

      Reply
  3. Nancy Davis

    Oh, no! Not poison ivy! I hope you feel better fast! Your pole beans look so great! And yummy looking cantaloupe. Don’t feel bad. None of my squash has done well this year either. Got a couple or three zucchini. Pulled out my butternut today. Lots of bugs there and they were small yet. Thankful for the harvest we do get! Nancy

    Reply
  4. CityGirlCountryBloke

    My squash and zucchini are going nuts! This is my first year having a garden so I have no idea what works and what doesn’t. Very, very sorry to hear about your poison ivy. No fun at all! My hubby is just getting over some that doesn’t seem to want to go away at all. Those horn worms are disgusting!

    Reply
    1. newbiegardengirl Post author

      They really are – but I try to get over the heebie-jeebies they give me and just say ‘cool!’ and show my kids 😉 no need teaching them to be as freaked out by bugs as I am! 🙂

      Reply
  5. marysveggiegarden

    Re Hornworms: what looks like eggs are really cocoons. The adult is a tiny wasp who lays her eggs inside the hornworm through the skin. After they hatch the larvae eat out the inside of the hornworm and eventually emerge to spin the cocoons in your picture. I read somewhere that up to 80% of hornworms are parasitized. Take one that looks OK, put it in a jar, keep feeding it tomato leaves and you may be able to watch the larvae emerge and spin their tiny cocoons. We’ve do this a couple times.

    Reply
    1. newbiegardengirl Post author

      I would love to say ‘that’s awesome! we’re totally going to do that!’ but really all of that info makes me want to throw up 😉 maybe next year i can stomach that experiment 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

