Harvest Monday

September 9, 2013

Last week we harvested the last cantaloupe 😦 No more fresh garden fruit until next year…but I am hoping to have strawberries in the Spring so I am looking forward to that already!

We harvested plenty of veggies this week, however!

DSC_2922Do you see the tomato? The bugs are enjoying them. A lot. So I have started picking them earlier and letting them ripen on the counter instead of on the vine. And do you see my peas?!?! They are long! and filled out πŸ™‚

DSC_2933Here are some more πŸ™‚ I was starting to get excited about upcoming harvests!

DSC_2925And then…

DSC_2924Of course it wasn’t this bad right away but when I saw it was munched down quite a bit, we assumed it was a deer, gave haircuts, and hoped for the best. Well, the hair did nothing and the next day we saw rabbitΒ  poop in the garden and all the peas were chewed down to the nub. Sigh. Very sad.

So, once all the peas were gone, I started noticing a shortage of carrot tops. I have a few beds covered but I only have so much bird netting – it is on the list to buy soon!

One bed was eaten up so much, I decided to go ahead and pull the baby carrots…better little carrots than no carrots at all πŸ™‚ They were pretty sweet.

September 07 13 - 0001I also harvested a sweet red pepper and some less-than-ripe tomatoes. By the way, you can see in the photo how many of the tops were being nibbled down.

We are continuing to harvest pole and bush beans. I can’t believe the kids haven’t gotten sick of them yet! I’m not complaining though. πŸ™‚

DSC_2931(some lettuce thinnings, spinach, and pole beans)September 07 13 - 0002(bottom of bowl filled with beans, top with lettuce)

I am SO enjoying eating greens from the garden! I love that it is organic! I love that it is free! πŸ˜€

What are you harvesting? Are you still harvesting summer veggies? Harvesting any fall veggies yet? Are you about to go crazy with the critters?

By the way, we got a cat this week (my mother-in-law’s). We are training it to stay at our house and trying to cover the crops temporarily. This cat is huge and apparently has been known to ‘take care’ of bunnies so…we’ll see. I like the fact that I am able to collect rabbit poo in the chicken run but not too excited about having rabbits in my garden, eating my favorite veggies!!!

I am linking up with Daphne’s Dandelions this week – go see what everyone else is up to!

PS. Chickens are 27 weeks old today. Anyone ever heard of healthy chickens NEVER laying? πŸ˜‰

6 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. Stoney Acres

    Sorry about the pea!! We are lucky to not have many critter problems, just birds. We are still strongly in the summer garden mode, I think another week or so and then things will really start to slow down, by then the fall garden should be ready to kick in!!

    Reply
  2. Shawn Ann

    Oh your peas looked so lovely. The chipmunk dug all mine up and it is too late to plant more so I’ll have to wait for spring too! The butterfly caterpillars are eating my carrots right now. Not too bad. I keep collecting the caterpillars and putting them in the bug house for my kids. At least that way I can control which carrot tops they eat and not ruin entire tops.
    Nice harvest.

    Reply
  3. Patsy

    Oh those wascally wabbits!!! Yes, something is eating the parsnip greens in my garden. And my fall broccoli. Whatever it is (and I suspect a rabbit too) it waited till this late in the season to get started thankfully. Your harvest looks wonderful despite the critter damage!

    Reply
  4. newbiegardengirl Post author

    Thanks for all your sympathy everyone πŸ˜‰ It seems the critters really know where the good food is πŸ™‚ We’re going to start letting the cat roam more today so maybe he’ll keep them away & I won’t have to put netting around everything πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Nancy Davis

    I wish I could share some of my tomatoes with you as I don’t need them all. My peas did not get eaten by anything but they sure have not grown much. That is a pretty red pepper and your lettuce and spinach looks wonderful. Much better than mine! The only critter I have problems with in the garden is Coco! Nancy

    Reply
  6. Michelle

    Rabbits are one of the worst pests. At least you can keep deer out with a fence (I do), but rabbits seem to get through anything. Take good care of that cat, he (she?) is your best defense.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

