Harvest Monday

April 7, 2014

This week, we finally have some things sprouting in the garden 🙂 The children do not know where to step and where to not step because at this stage, the garden looks like a wide expanse of mulch. I know where everything is but it will be nice when greenery helps everyone else know where paths are and where vegetation is.

Some spinach, planted 3 weeks ago, is starting to sprout in the strawberry patch.

Nieto Family - April 03 14 - 0063Spinach is also doing well in the greenhouses.

Nieto Family - April 03 14 - 0068Some strawberries are starting to flower. Those will be pinched off this year but it is still nice to see.

Nieto Family - April 03 14 - 0051Peas, planted 3 weeks ago, are beginning to sprout as well.

Nieto Family - April 03 14 - 0017I was given this seed and told it was old so I went ahead and just sprinkled the seeds, thinking germination would be spotty. Boy was I wrong! Oh well 🙂 Peas are pretty forgiving.

Nieto Family - April 06 14 - 0029Once the weather allows, I like to plant a little bit every two weeks so we will have more of a continual harvest. I prefer to eat in season, all season long, rather than plant all of my seeds and be overwhelmed as everything has to be harvested at once and preserved, put away, or eaten or it will go bad.

Planting

So this week, I planted blue potatoes (the last potatoes of my tri-colored potato patch), spinach, lettuce, kale, carrots, and bunching onions.

Nieto Family - April 06 14 - 0008The dark patch is the blue potatoes. To the left are the rest of the potatoes. Hopefully, in less than a month, I’ll be showing pictures of sprouting potatoes! 🙂

I know I need to keep the faith when it comes to my greenhouses but since no celery has sprouted yet and seed is so cheap and seed does not keep forever, I went ahead and direct-seeded some celery, cabbage, and broccoli. It may be a waste of seed but I’ll never know if I don’t try. I like to test things like this every year. Sometimes, it does not work out but other times, I am pleasantly surprised. For example, last year, I direct seeded some tomato plants and they did really well throughout the whole season!

I weeded one day this week and while in the process, found one carrot from a year ago and some carrots from this past fall. They were little and pretty wrinkly but we still ate them!

Nieto Family - April 03 14 - 0081Still harvesting about 16 eggs/day. Hoping to add spinach to that harvest total someday soon!

Nieto Family - March 30 14 - 0014We have one bantam (we think) Barred Rock, and the rest of our hens are Buff Orpingtons and Black Australorps. It is interesting to see the differences between our egg harvests everyday though. We consistently get a tiny one (I assume the Barred Rock), a HUGE one, one that is torpedo shaped (we have a skinny Orpington so maybe this is hers?), a speckled one, and many large eggs. This is 5 different types of eggs and we only have 3 types of hens. Very interesting, indeed 🙂

What are you harvesting? Check out what gardeners worldwide are doing at Daphne’s Dandelions.

6 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. daphnegould

    That is one huge egg. And those peas really came up thickly. Hopefully they won’t mind it too much.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Harvest Monday | Gardening Without…

  3. Pingback: Harvest Monday | Gardening Without…

Leave a Reply

