Harvest Monday

June 23, 2014

This is the first week we have had a more varied harvest. I am certainly not complaining about our greens harvests. I love greens! I would prefer to have more weeks of greens…alas, in North Carolina, our springs are just too short. On to summer! πŸ™‚

I am still harvesting lettuce. It is starting to be a bit bitter as we have been hitting mid-90s pretty regularly but I am still eating it because I love salads, I know how good it is for me (organic and what-not), and I don’t want it to go to waste!Nieto Family - June 18 14 - 0008The strawberry…let me explain…We got strawberry plants from my parents for Christmas this year. They are everbearing plants. It is suggested to pinch off the flowers the first season so the plants can get established. We did this…for 2 months. I kept waiting for them to stop flowering (what with our high temperatures) but they never did…so I gave up. So we are getting a trickling of strawberries right now and I am hoping for a real harvest in the fall. Nieto Family - June 18 14 - 0003(This was actually the first strawberry harvested. VERY juicy!) Nieto Family - June 18 14 - 0006(another strawberry and a bowl-full of blueberries)DSC_4581(handful of strawberries)

Our blueberry bushes are coming along. As I said before, this past week was INSANEly busy so I did not have very much time to pick but it worked out as the blueberries still needed a bit more time to fully ripen.DSC_4562(about 2 quarts of blueberries…it’s picking up!)

I took a picture of my son’s plate the other morning. I was so happy to see all home/local grown/made food on his plate! This is the goal for ALL meals πŸ™‚Nieto Family - June 18 14 - 0011(berries from our garden, egg from our chickens, strawberries from a local farm (raw jam made with strawberries and flaxseed in the food processor), homemade bread with wheat berries ground in our kitchen)

I was able to harvest some potatoes this week! Man! The difference in taste of store bought versus homegrown…Nieto Family - June 18 14 - 0010Nieto Family - June 18 14 - 0364I also harvested the first of the green beans (snaps)! πŸ˜€ These are one of few foods we ONLY eat in season (a few others are blueberries, strawberries, corn, and tomatoes) so the first ones are such a treat! πŸ™‚Nieto Family - June 18 14 - 0009DSC_4567(and later in the week, some more…)

Another meal to be proud of…Nieto Family - June 18 14 - 0438(Our lettuce, beans, and potatoes…corn from a friend’s 2013 garden. We also had Sloppy Joes (made with chickpeas, pinto beans, tomato sauce, onion, and spices) on homemade bread but there was no room on the plate so it was added later πŸ˜‰ )

And last, but certainly not least, was a grocery bag stuffed with kale. It was promptly juiced. (Mean Green Juice) YUM!Nieto Family - June 18 14 - 0004One more ‘harvest’ to mention…_DSC1034Only one chick hatched. However, since all were duds for our last broody hen, I’ll take one. One is still a win for us πŸ™‚

Will I be able to add a cucumber or our first tomato to the harvest tally next week?! We’ll see!

Check out what others are harvesting and what they are doing with their harvests over at Daphne’s Dandelions πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. daphnegould

    Lovely harvests. And those blueberries look delicious. I had to buy my blueberries this week. But my berries just don’t produce much.

    Reply
  2. Jenny

    Gorgeous berries and YEA for baby chick! So happy to see tiny thing survived. Those beans and potatoes look wonderful, I’m sure you’ve had a fantastic dinner.

    Reply
  3. Budding and Blooming

    Your home grown meals look delicious.. especially all those berries. And that little chick is adorable. I had to pull the rest of my lettuce last week, although I’m experimenting with Nevada lettuce to see if it can handle SC heat and sun (under a shade cloth).

    Reply
  4. Margaret

    I was just saying that I needed another bed for garlic…I’m thinking I need another bed for potatoes too. I’ve never had a homegrown potato – but I LOVE potatoes & after what you said, I simply have to add them to the rotation. That chick is absolutely adorable, by the way – now I just have to convince my hubby that we NEED chickens…

    Reply
  5. Barbie

    I’ve never heard of pinching back strawberries. As a matter of fact here they throw out the plants and start fresh each year! Glad to see you’ve gotten some now, nice blueberries, too!

    Reply
    1. newbiegardengirl Post author

      I think it’s the same idea as not letting blueberry bushes fruit for 3 years…letting the plant ‘get established’/put energy into getting big and strong instead of putting energy into producing fruit. if you let it get big and strong, it will produce more (and bigger) fruit in the future. this is what i read about this everbearing strawberry and it is certainly true about blueberry bushes!

      Reply
  6. Dave

    We’re loving our berries here too. Those beans and taters look great. I’m ready for some of those here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

