Tomatoes…

July 30, 2014

I have always had trouble growing tomatoes.

  • I have difficulty starting my own plants
  • They generally get some type of disease
  • Most of the time they are unable to vine-ripen.

This past year, I was not able to start a single plant on my own. I had to buy starts.

There were a lot of volunteers that I replanted but none of them have done incredibly well. All of the tomato plants I planted (or transplanted) have gotten blight (I think). I am pruning them incredibly heavily. We are still getting pretty good harvests so far, thankfully.

There were two tomato volunteers that I did not transplant. They sprouted by the chicken tunnel so I just let them stay. They, of course, look WONDERFUL! They are the only tomato plants untouched by me — not staked, not pruned, beautiful GREEN leaves, vine-ripened tomatoes, AND they are growing next to the woods so they only get sun from 11am on… smh.DSC_4889 DSC_4890The tomato plants I planted, weeded, pruned, etc…look pitiful in comparison! DSC_4892(NO leaves on most of the plant b/c of all the necessary pruning!)

Next Year…

Now I have a dilemma. I read somewhere that as long as you don’t have any disease, there is no need to rotate tomato planting areas.

After seeing what a volunteer tomato plant could be if left alone where it sprouted, I was thinking maybe I would just see what volunteer tomato plants came up on their own next year in this tomato patch and go from there. However,

  1. I have disease.
  2. I also wanted to use this area for winter gardening (easy to cover with plastic because of the structure the trellises provide)

Decisions, decisions :\

3 thoughts on “Tomatoes…

  1. daphnegould

    You could always collect tomato seed and toss it on the ground in the fall. Or just squeeze out some tomato seeds when you eat them. You might get volunteer tomatoes like that. I get them all over my garden as I spread the compost out and my townhouse mates put tomatoes in the compost sometimes.

    Reply
  2. Margaret

    Tomato diseases are so disheartening. One day you have a lush, green plant, the next, there are yellow leaves all over the place. Daphne’s ideas sounds like a good one if you are after volunteers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

