Garden in September, Eastern NC, Zone 7b

September 4, 2014

Eastern NC, Zone 7b.

Overview pics of the garden and a short description of changes from the previous month…

Garden at the beginning of June (Potatoes are coming up nicely, tomatoes are planted, corn is coming up, blueberries are ripening, peas are being harvested.) _DSF9171-EditGarden at the beginning of July (More potatoes sprouted, blueberry bushes are much larger, tomatoes, corn, and sunflowers are thriving, and sweet potatoes are coming along nicely.)

DSC_4679-EditGarden at the beginning of August (Potatoes have all but died back, watermelon is sprawling, sunflowers have bloomed, corn is down.)

Untitled_Paaanorama1-2Garden at the beginning of September (Potatoes are gone, new patch is made and covered, sweet potatoes are thriving, sunflowers are gone, tomatoes are looking bare.)Untitled_Panorama1Per usual, I’ll start from the bottom of the photo and work my way up to the top:

The kale, cabbage, and celery under the shade cloth is doing really well.Nieto Family - August 16 14 - 0028 Nieto Family - August 16 14 - 0027Nieto Family - August 16 14 - 0026 DSC_5372I am planning on transplanting most of these tomorrow into the chicken tractor so they can get more sun. The potato patch is covered with chicken compost for the winter. I am thinking it will be the corn patch next year. It is partially shaded most of the day but the potatoes did fine with this so I am thinking the corn may as well?

Next to this year’s potato patch is a new section of garden where I think I will plant potatoes next year.DSC_5373

Next to that is the tomato/pepper/watermelon patch. The watermelons are finally ready for harvest. They have all been incredibly tasty so far. DSC_5379The pepper plants, per usual, are healthy-looking but do not produce an incredible amount of peppers. I don’t know what I can do to remedy that situation…other than plant more plants every year, which I plan to do.

The tomatoes actually seem to be bouncing back from all of their issues. I was going to rip them out and plant a bunch of brassicas in place of them; but now that they’re bouncing back, I am waiting on that…DSC_5378(still very heavily pruned but the new growth does not seem to be succumbing to any fungus)

The sweet potato patch looks great! We’ll see how they turn out in October, when it’s time to harvest.DSC_5380(top of photo: expanded the skinny strawberry patch)

If you remember, the corn patch was turned into a pea/carrot patch. The plan was to have pea border the patch (2′ border) with roots in the middle. I would harvest and rip out the peas before I had to do anything with the roots. I thought it was a good plan 😉

Only problem? Most of the carrots did not sprout and those that did have died off already. I assume it was just too hot. I am hoping to get the whole thing reseeded by the end of the week. We’ll see.DSC_5381(the peas are coming up nicely — bare spots are where cucumber & butternut squash plants were previously)

Up next is more sweet potato patch (seen in top right of the previous photo) and at the end my three oldest planted carrots and onions. They are partially shaded so they are doing better than my plantings of root veggies so far.

In the blueberry patch is our growing raspberry patch. Excuse the photo — storm was coming & I was holding a baby so this was as good as the pic was going to get. Look closely though, you can see quite a few raspberries ripening:)DSC_5382

The sunflowers were harvested and I ripped up the spent cucumber vines. Next on the list is to plant more brassicas, lettuce, and spinach in this area. (top of the photo is yet another sweet potato patch)DSC_5384Past the sunflower boxes is a box in which I have spinach sprouting (the box with the screen on it).DSC_5385 I also planted spinach in the potato patch but I had to remove the shade cloth (didn’t have enough) so all of it died 😦 I hope to plant more by mid-September.

To the left of this section are strawberry patches and to the right (bottom to top) are carrots, the last succession planting of beans, yet another sweet potato patch, volunteer tomatoes, and the chicken tractor, where broccoli and cabbage are planted.DSC_5388Past that is where we expanded the garden with cardboard and mulch a couple of weeks ago.

Welp, that’s it! Summer crops are finishing up and I am trying my hardest to get all of the fall crops planted so we can continue harvesting throughout the fall and winter. Most gardens (and gardeners) are SPENT by August. Because my garden is covered in mulch, my garden is still looking great (no weeds)! Praise the Lord for the Back to Eden Film! 🙂

I am linking up with Green Thumb Thursday to see what other gardeners are up to 🙂

4 thoughts on “Garden in September, Eastern NC, Zone 7b

Leave a Reply

