Harvest Monday

September 29, 2014

If you recall, I had quite the TO DO list for this week. Wipes, bread, & marinara sauce making, bean cooking & freezing, and potty training…I got all of it done, except for potty training the 2yo. I’ve potty trained four children now and it never gets any easier. 😛

We are in a harvesting lull these days. My carrots did not sprout (I am going to pick up diatomaceous earth for spring plantings, thanks to homegrown adventures), our tomatoes and peppers are few and far between,DSC_5544 and the chickens got out this week to scratch up my WHOLE garden, including some newly planted carrots and ALL of our wonderfully ripe raspberries 😦 We only got a handful this week.DSC_5488(Last week, this was one picking. This week, this is all we got.)

I was able to harvest our first bit of lettuce this week! It is the first time we have been able to eat lettuce since July. I’ve missed it, for sure! I am excited to be getting back into greens-eating weather. Spinach and lettuce, here we come!Nieto Family - September 22 14 - 0002

I’ll post soon about our wonderful marinara sauce.

Head over to Daphne’s Dandelions to see what other gardeners are harvesting this week 🙂

4 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. dvelten

    Too bad about the chickens and garden. A little lettuce is one thing but to lose the raspberries is disappointing. I have teh same problem with carrots, I can’t get them to germinate. I have two carrot seedlings in 10 square feet of planted bed.

    Reply
  2. daphnegould

    Oh bad, bad chickens. Not the raspberries. And nice lettuce. Mine just didn’t do well this fall, so I’m lettuce free sadly.

    Reply
  3. Margaret

    So sad about the garden – you must have some very happy chickens now! And maybe this means fewer weeds & bad critters like sow bugs in your fall/spring garden? Those raspberries look oh so good, even if they were only a few. And I know what you mean about missing the lettuce. I didn’t get around to sowing a fall planting and now am regretting it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

