Harvest Monday

November 24, 2014

Whew! This week was no joke! Last week, most days were in the 60s or 70s. This week, we made it out of the 40s only one day. A shock to the system, for sure!

Even so, we were able to harvest kaleDSC_5915 and carrots this week (little but still sweet).DSC_6137

After I harvested some carrots, my kids wanted to harvest theirs  as well. They were so proud.DSC_6215

We are harvesting about 5 eggs/day. The chickens are finished moulting and they are so beautiful and fluffy!DSC_6216 DSC_6220 DSC_6222The few days I did brave the outdoors, I covered the strawberry beds for the winter. Paul says to cover them just enough for the leaves to lay down.DSC_6134(halfway done) DSC_6136 In the spring, the old, weak plants will die and decompose while the young, strong plants will push through the mulch. This way

  • you always have healthy strawberry plants
  • no need to thin the strawberry plants
  • and no need to replace them or transplant them (unless you want to, to expand, like I do).

This is the theory I am testing out. He does this every year. I guess I’ll find out in the spring 🙂

This week, I need to cover the brassicas with more cloth or plastic. All of the nights in the 20s this week has really had its toll on them. The broccoli plants may be lost.

Check out what other gardeners are harvesting at Daphne’s Dandelions today.

3 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. daphnegould

    I’ve never heard of anyone doing a strawberry patch like that. I’ll love watching and seeing how it works. I do have to thin my strawberry plants though. I didn’t do it this year. I just let them go crazy. I don’t usually do that, but I was forgetting about them.

    Reply
  2. Margaret

    I’ll be watching your strawberry bed experiment with interest as well – I just went through the strawberry bed, removing runners & getting rid of old blotchy leaves before covering it with straw – my back was not amused.

    Reply
  3. Dave @ OurHappyAcres

    The ladies do look great with their new feathers! I hope the strawberry mulch experiment works to your liking. They are pretty labor intensive to take care of, and anything that helps sounds great to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

