Harvest Monday

December 8, 2014

I was able to uncover the hoophouse this week. It never got in the low 30s at night and the daytime highs were in the 50s and 60s. It was a beautiful week. Next week is going to get colder so  I had to cover everything back up yesterday.

Not wanting to get out more covers and unable to keep the chickens away, I went ahead and pulled all of my baby carrots that were previously uncovered. Hopefully, I will have better luck growing carrots next year. I also harvested a bit of spinach.DSC_6321We ate this salad with baked beans. Also from the garden, we ate baked sweet potatoes, steamed green beans, and pecans.DSC_6323This may not look like a lot but this is my 3yo’s plate. Everyone else ate more 🙂 The vast majority of the pecans are eaten on the porch. Very few make it to a meal. And this is not all they eat — they always have seconds and fruit.

I baked my last spaghetti squash this week. It is the only one that has not molded in storage. It was rather large as well. I went ahead and saved some seeds. One less thing to buy for next year!DSC_6435

Also, note to self, grow MORE spaghetti squash! I was able to freeze enough bags for two more dinners but I would like to grow enough to last me through the winter.

We harvested kale this week for a yummy salad. DSC_6361We probably only have a few more weeks of kale harvests. I need to remember to grow more kale next year!

Some vegetables that we are NOT running out of: tomatoes, green beans, sweet potatoes, and green peppers. Pretty much everything else we need to grow more of but we are good to go (so far) with these vegetables 🙂

Check out what others are harvesting at Daphne’s Dandelions today.

4 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. Margaret

    I’m at the trial and error stage too – trying to figure out how much of everything we need to carry us through to next year. That’s too bad that your spaghetti squash got moldy – I always assumed they would keep for quite a few months. Winter squash is yet another veg that I’m really looking forward to growing a few varieties of next year.

    Reply
  2. daphnegould

    Since my diet changed this year, I seem to need to grow more of certain things too. I really need more cabbage.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

