Harvest Monday

November 9, 2015

Each week I think ‘This is the last of the raspberry harvests’ but our weather stays mild and they continue to ripen. We are harvesting about a handful each week. We are also able to harvest some kale for smoothies.Nieto Photography 2015

We were able to start eating our sweet potatoes this week! I know they will only get sweeter as the winter progresses but right now, considering we haven’t had any sweet potato since May, we think they taste pretty sweet! This week we had mashed sweet potatoes, sweet potato biscuits, and sweet potato minestrone. YUM!

As far as work in the garden, not much got done this week. It has rained almost every day. The few days of clear skies afforded me time to move all of the cages around the raspberries and strawberries and enough time to weed the front path.

Whenever it stops raining, I will need to add more mulch on the front path. The daffodils are coming up already because of the mild weather. The other big chore once the rain stops is to WEED!!! We haven’t weeded for the past 3 months and there are certain sections that really need it.

What are your gardens up to right now? Are you harvesting anything? Anyone able to have good fall harvests without starting seeds indoors (not an option for me)? Any tips?

Head over to Our Happy Acres to see what other gardeners are harvesting these days.

3 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. Margaret

    My sweet potato harvest was pretty dismal, but I can’t wait until they finish curing to try one anyhow – homegrown is always best, even (or maybe especially!) when there’s not much of it.

    Reply
  2. Dave @ OurHappyAcres

    I couldn’t wait for sweet potatoes either, and had to sample ours last week. But I’ve never tried them in a minestrone! Could you sow seeds outdoors in a bed for fall veggies? I’ve used a cold frame to guard a ‘nursery’ bed for plants, and then pulled them and replanted in the garden.

    Reply
    1. newbiegardengirl Post author

      The issue here (NC) is that it is too hot for things to sprout in the summer. I sow in a shaded spot and then transplant but because I have to wait until it cools down a bit, I am unable to harvest until January or so. I would love to figure out a way to have a FALL harvest!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

