Harvest Monday

January 5, 2015

This past week was a little chilly. I did not get much done in the garden. This upcoming week is supposed to be downright frigid (highs in the 20s). I think I shall hibernate.

I went outside only a few times to harvest kale and eggs.DSC_6361Nieto Family - September 13 14 - 0050 I will start sowing seeds mid-January in my milk jug greenhouses but until then, I wait.

I hope to have more exciting posts next January. I try to do more winter gardening every year. This year, lack of agribon kept that from happening. Cabbage worms had a field day. I ordered some for this spring. I expect there to be a big difference in harvests with protection.

Check out what other gardeners are up to this week at Daphne’s Dandelions.

4 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. daphnegould

    The kale looks good. We are getting cold today too. It start in the high 30s but by the time it ends today it will be in the teens. And we will get negative numbers later this week. Brrr.

    Reply
  2. Margaret

    Beautiful kale. I have yet to attempt any type of winter garden – not that it would be successful in our cold winters, but you never know until you try, right? Maybe next year…

    That blast of cold is right on top of us today – kids are apparently taking their recesses indoors for the most part.

    Reply

Leave a comment