Garden in March, Eastern NC, Zone 7b

March 4, 2015

Beginning of MarchNieto Photography 2015In like a lion, huh? Nothing much going on in the garden here (except for greenhouses).

Since this picture was taken, on the first day of March, the snow has melted. I planted peas, spinach, carrots, and beets in the garden when it did. Today, I am planning on planting the rest of the greenhouses.

I finished all of my February TO DO list. Yay! That does not always happen 😉 All of the pruning is done, new trees are planted, and all of my cool weather crops are in the greenhouses.

March TO DO:

  • Finish planting greenhouses (warm-weather crops)
  • Direct sow cool crops late in the month
  • Hatch out some chicks?

What’s left in our stores?

We finished up the last of the peas, green beans, pumpkins, and strawberries this month. We have two more boxes of sweet potatoes. We still have plenty of blueberries and green peppers. We also still have tomatoes in our freezer from last year.

I am planning on planting twice as much as I did last year. We were able to feed ourselves from the garden this year. I am hoping to be able to feed our family and about three other families I know who are in need. I also would like to stop feeding our chickens store-bought feed and feed them only from the garden (as Paul does). It is a tall order and I may not have the room but how are you going to grow if you do not set lofty goals for yourself? 😉

I am linking up to the Friday Blog Hop to see what others are up to across the country.

2 thoughts on “Garden in March, Eastern NC, Zone 7b

  1. daphnegould

    I’m jealous. I’m thinking I won’t get to put anything in the ground this March. Traditionally here St. Patricks Day is the day to plant peas. Though I find that date a bit optimistic even in a normal year. Usually I get them in before the end of March. Not always, but often. I’m pretty sure that won’t happen this year. But maybe I’ll be surprised. Good luck on the expanded garden.

    Reply

Leave a comment