Harvest Monday

December 9, 2013

I grew my first cabbage this fall πŸ™‚ I planted MANY but only one got past seedling stage. None of my kale got past seedling stage either. I guess there is some type of bug who thinks these are yummy?

I planted the seed at the end of July. At the beginning of fall, the chickens got out and ate all of my greens. They pecked a bit at the cabbage as well but were not impressed. I am not sure how long I am supposed to let it grow but temperatures really started to fall lately so I went ahead and cut it. I’m sure I’ll laugh at myself in years to come but I am really impressed with my first cabbage πŸ™‚

DSC_3474 DSC_3475Another thing I’m impressed with…our carrots! Keep in mind the ground where they were planted was never tilled…we just let the chickens eat all of the grass & poop on it, covered it up with newspaper and mulch, and then planted about a month later.

DSC_3469DSC_3472(Carrot on the bottom is the typical size of what we’ve been picking. The ones on top are what all of the carrots we have been picking lately look like.)

Most did not grow very long but man are they FAT! Again, I planted these at the end of July. I am just picking them as I need them. This spring and fall, all of the carrots we picked were extremely tiny but I just kept planting them. Because these were able to stay in the ground four months, they really had a lot of time to plump up. Also, because of all of the frosts we have been having, they have gotten sweeter. I have three more patches of carrots still in the garden. I wonder if they will last us until the spring. Probably not but we’ll see!

We are asking around for milk jugs for our greenhouses. The plan is to order seeds the day after Christmas with our Christmas money & start planting in our greenhouses shortly after that. In order to grow everything I want to grow this year, I will need over 64 milk jugs…and we don’t drink milk. I’m asking around – we’ll see if we get them all! I can’t wait until we have greens to eat again!

How are your gardens growing? Check out Daphne’s Dandelions to see what everyone else has going on in their winter gardens πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. marysveggiegarden

    Congratulations! Fall cabbages are difficult, spring cabbages much easier. Last fall, about 4 of 10 headed up, this summer I managed to kill all my fall xplants by transplanting just before a heat wave and putting them under a row cover.

    Reply
  2. Patsy

    That is a beautiful cabbage! You should be proud! And the carrots too, mine are much tinier. Mary is right, try cabbages in spring, they are easy to grow. I found a lot of pests went after my fall plantings.

    Reply
    1. newbiegardengirl Post author

      i’m definitely going to try in the spring again! i had some worm issues but as soon as it got cooler, they left the cabbage alone πŸ™‚ still haven’t cut it open but thankfully, they keep a long time in the fridge πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. karrie jablonowski

    I think your cabbage is great!! I myself am trying cabbage for the first time. I’m praying it’s not too hot here for them though. My first is just starting to form the head. Now if i can just keep the worms off…haha

    Reply
  4. Nancy Davis

    I am envious of your cabbage and carrots this time of year! It is really cold here right now so my gardening is done for this year! Received my first seed catalog though so after Christmas can start dreaming!.Good luck on getting the milk jugs! Nancy

    Reply

Leave a comment