Harvest Monday

June 3, 2013

I finally had a week in which I did not plant anything! That has not happened in a while. This does not mean the garden was untouched, however. I was able to harvest kale & lettuce…

kale2lettuce2(images from last week but same produce πŸ˜‰ )

our first peas (only 4 germinated…these seeds are over 5 years old so I was just seeing what would come up)…

peapea2(nice & plump)pea3(everyone got one pea πŸ™‚ )

and our first potato!

potatoI am definitely new to growing and harvesting potatoes. I have tried digging down to get new potatoes twice now and I have not found any. However, yesterday, I was pulling weeds in between potato plants and I accidentally pulled this potato up! I think whenever we’re ready to harvest potatoes, we’re just going to have to uncover everything. I’m still not sure when to harvest them…they’ve been in the ground since March, came above the mulch in April…anyone? please enlighten me! πŸ™‚

One last garden activity that happened (other than me getting eaten ALIVE while working in the garden past 6pm) was covering more area with cardboard and mulch. Our church meets at an elementary school so Sunday, my husband loaded our car with as much cardboard as it could hold. I realize cardboard is not the best because it doesn’t lie flat (leaving room for the bermuda grass to come up) but it is thicker than newspaper so it has been our go-to medium to put down before mulch so far.

mulchmulch2(excuse the blurriness – phone pic)

I am linking to Daphne’s Dandelions for Harvest Monday. Go see what everyone else is harvesting across the country!

4 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. Janet M

    This is only my second year to garden; and 1st year to do BTE. Potatoes can be robbed of new potatoes whenever you want, but as far as harvesting the whole load, you do that when the plant begins to die. Mine are still looking nice/green and healthy. I think we put them in the ground early March, or even late Feb. We weren’t sure “how” to do them since we don’t have the deep loose soil area that the film has. We just covered them (hilled them) with wood chips. I think if I need to do this next year I’d use straw instead. We might not have needed to do it at all. It will be interesting to see if there are any spuds in the “hill” or just in the ground. We will have lots of chips to move somewhere else (always a need) when we do harvest. I highly recommend the book The Vegetable Garden’s Bible. We used that method last year and had a hugely successful garden; tho we believe BTE will be less work eventually and less water/weeds. The book has very good info, and a couple pages about every vegetable with instructions on starting, planting, care, harvest and storage.

    Reply
  2. newbiegardengirl Post author

    thx. that is what i have read but ours have yet to even flower (except one plant). they have not died but have not grown to be HUGE, as i see in most gardens. However, we do have about 8-10 inches of mulch so maybe that’s the reason they aren’t getting as large? It will be interesting to see what we end up harvesting when it’s all said and done. I figured we would not be harvesting anything as I had already tried to dig down and found nothing but this little spud gives me hope! πŸ˜€

    Reply
    1. foodgardenkitchen

      Potatoes do not *have* to flower to make tubers. But once the plant starts to die (about 90 days after planting the seed potato), that’s when you can harvest at will. We tend to do ours in stages since you can leave them in the ground until the plants have completely died back.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

