Harvest Monday

June 2, 2014

I’ll start with the sad news. Not a single egg hatched for our poor broody hen. Another hen went broody, however, so we went ahead and put some eggs under her. Per usual, we’ll wait and see 🙂

The good news is, the two chicks that hatched a couple of months ago are sister and brother! We have a rooster 🙂 Hopefully, it will be a docile one, as we had to kill our last one for being too aggressive. I can’t wait to hear crowing again! I love that sound 🙂 AND we won’t have to borrow fertilized eggs from our friend anymore (eventually) when more hens go broody! 🙂

We are still enjoying our spinach, green romaine, and red romaine salads. DSC_4281 DSC_4274Kale is being consumed while juicing and sauteed.DSC_4303 DSC_4312Peas are eaten raw as a side for lunch or dinner (the kids love shelling them so I just put some pods on their plate every day)._DSF9554 I was curious whether some carrots were ready to harvest or if I needed to continue to buy carrots at the grocery store so I pulled some to see how they were doing. The first one had obviously hit a rock so I pulled a second and then pulled one of my daughter’s carrots to show her how hers were coming along. DSC_4311They still need more time to fatten up but they are nice and long! Much longer than last year! Just goes to show how every year the soil is getting better and better. Praise the Lord! I am growing lunar carrots, a variety of orange carrots, and purple carrots.

Eating from the garden…only…

I was talking to a friend about how people used to provide food for their families. I couldn’t understand how they did it because I am working so hard and we still have to buy from the store! I know we have 6 kids but that was pretty normal for the time period we were discussing.

I used our blueberries for an example — we have 45 bushes…we eat them fresh and freeze them and we still have to buy frozen blueberries from the store about 4 months out of the year.

She went on to mention they did not have freezers back then either…then it hit me: even though my goal is to eat in season, I still have convenience engrained into me so that (as previously mentioned) if I want carrots and ours are not quite ready in the garden, I’ll pick some up from the store until they are.

How did people eat from their gardens alone back then? I know it was hard work but if we only ate in season, 45 blueberry bushes would be MORE than enough for our family and our neighbors! Since I have access to a freezer, I will continue to preserve by freezing (I HATE the taste of anything canned!) but I am trying to be more purposeful about eating in season.

For example, last year, when peas were in season, we would eat peas as an ‘extra’ thing on our plate but we would still eat our ‘normal’ veggies that were not in season (like green beans). This year, since peas are in season, peas are on our plate. It makes perfect sense! So why did it take me this long to realize it was an option? Because eating in season is not natural anymore. I am happy to retrain my brain and raise my kids to know what fruits and veggies are in season, when.

I know a lot of my fellow gardening bloggers’ goal is to eat fruits and veggies only from their gardens…hence the impressive amounts of produce they blog about each week! Check out what others are harvesting at Daphne’s Dandelions.

5 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. Jenny

    Your greens look lovely! And sorry to hear about problem with hens and rooster. Hope new one will be a nice one. They do tend to be very aggressive. As for eat what’s in season – most people all over the world usually do that, but folks in the US are more trained that they can buy anything at any given time. I grew up in the Eastern Europe, and if we didn’t plant it, foraged for it or picked off the trees and bartered with others – we didn’t eat it. Portions were also much smaller than is “normal” for USA. Meat was a rarity and once a week as “great to have” but mushrooms were our stable protein sources. Eggs, milk and milk products were bartered at farms. But mostly it was potatoes or pasta and any side that we grew or canned during winter (freezers were tiny). My husband and I also trying to keep it simple these days and eat what we grow, but I do buy fish and chicken at the local farm because we can. Maybe one day when we’re retired we’ll go back to full homestead with our own chickens and a pond but for now local it is.

    Reply
  2. Budding and Blooming

    Lovely greens and peas! I love eating fresh peas and I think kids would love peas a whole lot more if they had them fresh instead of those horrible canned ones I had to eat as a kid. I’m in awe of people that only eat what they grow. It seems that every season I have some crop failure due to deer, bugs or weather and I couldn’t imagine the stress that would cause if it was my only source of food.

    Reply
  3. daphnegould

    I certainly try to grow and freeze for the winter and eat in season a lot. Most of my vegetables right now are from the garden. But I do buy from the store too. I like to have orange vegetables in addition to the green on occasion. I do still have some frozen squash, but like you I also bought carrots not to mention the occasional onion when my storage ones run out in March. And things like avocados, lemons, and limes (which don’t grow in my climate) are on the menu sometimes too. And usually sometime in March I break down and get sick of my frozen dinners all the time and buy fresh.

    And canning wasn’t invented until the early 1800s (it was invented for war to supply the soldiers with food), so people before then didn’t even have that option. I would guess people lived on their root cellers (as least in the northern areas) with squash, cabbage, carrots, onions, and potatoes. Personally I’m glad to have my freezer. And glad to have the supermarket to back me up when I need it.

    And I can’t wait for my peas to ripen. But then I don’t even have flowers yet. It should be soon though.

    Reply
    1. newbiegardengirl Post author

      yes, i am VERY thankful for my freezer! I do have a hope of one day not having to buy any veggies and only very few fruits from the store…may be too lofty of a goal, but it is a goal, nonetheless. i love the book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle and I read it about once a year for motivation and inspiration 🙂 i didn’t know that about canning…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

