Strawberries

May 2, 2015

It’s that time of year again! We went to the U-pick farm down the road from us and picked 45lbs of strawberries earlier this week. We froze 2/3 to make strawberry jelly throughout the year. We made shortcake, strawberry muffins, dehydrated some and we ate a lot as well. We will continue eating them fresh at every meal this week.Nieto Photography 2015 Nieto Photography 2015

Last year was the first time anyone wanted to help me with the strawberries. My (then) 7yo wanted to help. I tried to show her how to cut the stem off. She cut too much strawberry for my liking (I’m really picky when it comes to wasting food).

This year, I decided to try the straw idea I have seen floating around. Using a straw, my 8yo, 7yo, and 6yo were all able to help de-stem the strawberries. They loved sucking out the insides of the strawberry that got stuck in their straws too!Nieto Photography 2015 Nieto Photography 2015After my 8yo made the shortcake batter, I put it on a mini-muffin pan to make our own shortcakes. Nieto Photography 2015I’m not saying they came out pretty but it was fun having a ‘bowl’ to put the strawberries in 🙂 Nieto Photography 2015We’ll probably go one or two more times this season to pick. I was told I could could come in June and take as many runners as I could find. If the runners don’t have roots, nothing will likely come of them but I figure, it won’t hurt to try! Just stick them in mulch and see if anything happens. Maybe I won’t have to buy June-bearing strawberries after all!!

Do you buy your produce straight from the farmer when possible? I know they appreciate it!

One thought on “Strawberries

  1. daphnegould

    I buy from the farmer when I can, but usually they are growing the same things I am. What I need to buy are things like lemons and avocados that I can’t grow and neither can they. It must be so much easier to do if you live in California – except for that water problem. At least we don’t have that here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

