Harvest Monday

May 4, 2015

We are still harvesting spinach every other day.Nieto Photography 2015We were able to harvest a bit of lettuce and cilantro this week for the first time!Nieto Photography 2015

We went to a U-pick strawberry farm early in the week and stocked up for jams this winter.Nieto Photography 2015My neighbor’s overwintered kale is loving the cool weather we’ve been having. We’ve picked about 3 grocery bags-full for juicing.Nieto Photography 2015My daughter planted some onion seeds last fall and left them over the winter. One survived and just started to go to seed so she went ahead and harvested it this week.Nieto Photography 2015We are nearing the end of our stash of tomatoes and sweet potatoes 😦 We no longer eat sweet potatoes. I am saving the last few for the baby 🙂 I used most of the tomatoes this week to make just over 4 quarts of marinara sauce. My husband asked if I could make a marinara-scented candle. The house smelled SO yummy!Nieto Photography 2015I just finished taking pictures for my monthly garden post. Most things are sprouting, even with our cool weather this week. It is supposed to warm up considerably this next week so hopefully our beans and corn will catch up with everything else.

What are you harvesting? Check out what other gardeners are up to at Daphne’s Dandelions today 🙂

4 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. Dave @ OurHappyAcres

    I love those strawberries! Our u-pick farms aren’t quite ready for them yet, maybe another week or so. Lovely spinach too. I could put the spinach and the strawberries together for a salad right about now!

    Reply
  2. daphnegould

    I could so see wanting a marinara scented candle. I love the smell of my husbands when he has it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

