Harvest Monday

August 5, 2013

Man, I stunk it up in the picture department this week! šŸ˜¦ After the raccoon came back to take more corn, I went ahead & pulled all the corn in two patches. The third patch has pole beans wrapped around the corn (raccoons supposedly hate the feel of climbing those and this patch has been untouched thus far) so I am leaving those a bit longer…but no pictures :\

We ate more corn on the cob a couple of nights and some I cut off the cob and made a very large pot pie with corn, potatoes, carrots, snaps, and peas (found while cleaning out the freezer – from ’08 harvest but tasted wonderful šŸ™‚ ) with homemade crust and cream. Y.U.M.

pot pieAnother thing harvested was our first cucumber (again, no pic) and our second cucumber. I remembered halfway through cutting the second one up for supper to take a picture so my 7yo snapped a quick one.

cucThere are no more forming on the vine. It is right next to my 7yo’s pole beans and I think they are just shading the cucumber plant out (they are both on the same netting). I have had trouble with cucumbers for the past two years – trouble getting them started…I don’t know what the deal is. Anyway, we LOVE cucumbers around here so we thoroughly enjoyed any little bit we get!

I also harvested my first tomato! With such a cool summer, this was quite the delight. Romas are starting to ripen on the vine and hopefully, the rest are not far away. I ate this tomato on our veggie patch pizza this week. One of my favorite pizzas šŸ™‚

harvest(neighbor’s tomatoes in the background. the one in the bowl is my first šŸ™‚ We continue to harvest plenty of pole & bush beans.)

My marigolds had a tough start as they were among the plants which had to be transplanted when I was ripping up weed cloth. Only two survived but one is beginning to bloom! We’ve been waiting so long! We’re almost more excited about these than we are about our veggies! šŸ™‚

marigoldsCheck out what everyone else is harvesting over at Daphne’s Dandelions!

3 thoughts on “Harvest Monday

  1. Nancy Davis

    Hi! I would say all of this produce from your garden must really be helping your grocery budget! Glad your two surviving marigold are bringing a bit of joy! Wonderful crop of green beans. I gave up weighing my produce this year but I do take quite a few pictures. Nancy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

